News & EventsLatest NewsCalendar
Annual Dinner & Awards Summary

Annual Dinner & Awards Summary

Steve Bird5 Jun - 13:01
Share via

Avon rugby club commemorated another good season at their recent Annual Dinner and Awards ceremony

On the playing front, trophies were handed out to Rhys van den Handell for the most improved player and Escher le Duc as the young player whilst Sam Book was presented with the captain’s cup. The player of the year as voted by his team mates went to Xander Hall-Davis for the 1st team and Ben Hurd for the 2nd team.

Head Coach Kai Harwood paid tribute to the versatility of his squad which provided ample cover for injuries and unavailabilities and which helped Avon secure 3rd place in the Counties 2 Somerset league. He also presented Matt Thresher a trophy for finishing top of the league try scoring charts with 23 touchdowns. Special praise was given to backs coach Jake Coates who has assisted in implementing a more dynamic attacking threat out wide this season.

The Clubman of the year was awarded to stalwart Mike Butcher for his unwavering support, whilst a resounding cheer greeted Chris Mutlow as he collected the Special Services award after 459 1st team appearances to date. Kane Book and Ben Hurd were awarded tankards as the respective captains of the 1st and 2nd teams, whilst director of rugby Clive Book’s longevity was celebrated with his cameo performance off the bench in the impressive away win at Minehead.

Further reading